Wednesday, October 19, 2016

[ Album Review ] Phantom Pop - Beta

Artist: Phantom Pop
Album: BETA
Fusion / Funk / Jazz
Official Website

Phantom pop is made up of a diverse cast of Brooklyn musicians. With influences like Snarky Puppy, Stevie Wonder, The Mars Volta, and Steely Dan, you can expect to be surprised at every turn. Their newest release, Beta, is a pleasant upbeat listening experience from start to finish. Smooth jazz with fusions of soul, R&B, and funk. Impressive vocal chops, a rocking horn section, and intriguing rhythm sections lends elements from almost every genre. They are currently on tour with rapper JSWISS, blending rap into their instrumental synchronicity to create a unique sound all their own.

With song titles like “Selfie Punch”, and “Banana Computer(ft. JSWISS)” it’s refreshing to see the band has a good sense of humor. “Rosewood” is a personal favorite, percussive clapping layered over a deep Moog groove that pulls you in, and doesn’t let go. When the beat finally drops, it’s impossible to sit still. Their music will get in your veins and move you. Another personal favorite on Beta, is the closing track "La Baleine 2.0". Halfway through the song you are whisked away by a soaring tangible saxophone solo, then ushered right back into the jazz swing and the sweet bubbly vocals of Songyi Jeon. The last 30 seconds of the album are the grand finale to an incredible display of musicianship, collaboration, and wonderful arrangements. Beta is pure fireworks.

And you're in luck, you can get a copy right here: Bandcamp


Originally formed by Dave Lowenthal simply to create an album, Phantom Pop has gone on to tour the east coast, southern, and Midwest U.S. The first self-titled album was selected by WNCW Radio as one of the Top 100 Releases of 2015.
Members: Dave Lowenthal - Bass; Josh Schusterman - Drums; Noah MacNeil - Keyboards; Atsushi Ouchi - Saxophone; Matt Giella - Trumpet; Songyi Jeon - Voice; Theo Moore - Percussion; JSWISS - MC
Phantom Pop extended family includes:  Haruka Yabuno - Keyboards; Eitan Akman - Guitar;  Owen Broder - Saxophone; Michael Sarian - Trumpet